Photo: Ernesto Uhlmann

The Steering Group determines the strategic direction of the application and is made up of representatives of the City Council, the university, culture and sport, tourism and business, plus the city’s mayors.

  • Barbara Ludwig, Mayor of Chemnitz
  • Ferenc Csák, Head of the Chemnitz City Culture Department and Capital of Culture Project
  • Sven Bader, Klaus Bartl, Julia Bombien, Jens Kieselstein, Almut Patt, Manuela Tschök-Engelhardt as representatives of the city council
  • Katja Uhlemann, Head of the Mayor’s Office
  • Börries Butenop, Head of the City Planning Office
  • Sören Uhle, Managing Director of Economic Devolopment Corporation (CWE Chemnitz)
  • Dr. Christoph Dittrich, General Director and CEO of Theatre Chemnitz (Theater Chemnitz gGmbH)
  • Egmont Elschner, Chairman of the Cultural Advisory Council of the City of Chemnitz
  • Prof. Dr. Gerd Strohmeier, President of the Chemnitz University of Technology (TU Chemnitz)
  • Gunnar Bertram, President of the Chamber of Commerce and Industry Chemnitz (IHK Chemnitz)
  • Dr. Micaela Schönherr, President of NINERS Chemnitz e. V. as honorary representative of sport
  • Lisa Lotze, from the festival “ArschKreativ” as representative of the young generation
  • Frédéric Bußmann, Director of the Chemnitz Art Collections
  • Gabi Reinhardt, theatre pedagogue and representative of the independent scene
  • Frank Müller, Board Member Creative Chemnitz e.V. (Kreatives Chemnitz)