Some stretches are now complete; others are still in the planning stages: the Chemnitzer Modell tram and train system will connect the region over the next few years – from Olbernhau to Hainichen and from Annaberg-Buchholz to Mittweida. And if the region can now be explored in such a leisurely and comfortable way on local public transport, why not tell people about it? The capital of culture application is the perfect opportunity – so far it has brought together all the lord mayors and mayors from neighbouring communities and kick‑started the process of creating a shared culture in the region. Together, our cities and communities have a great deal to offer ‒ including for their residents, who are able to make the most of urban life without having to do without rural tranquillity. They can explore water meadows one day and low mountain landscapes the next, experience our industrial heritage in all its facets, and discover the cultural wealth of the region.

Thus, at a joint council meeting held on 14 November 2018, 24 cities and communities all along the route of the Chemnitzer Modell unanimously approved Chemnitz’s application for the title of European Capital of Culture 2025.

With around half a million inhabitants, the Chemnitz region is a densely populated European conurbation with huge cultural potential. As a result, a range of projects and events are being developed in the run-up to the Capital of Culture award; win or lose, they are designed to change the region for the better, in the eyes both of local people and of those from outside the region and across Europe.

Mayor Barbara Ludwig: “There are a great many factors that connect this cultural region: not only do we have a shared history, we are also able to tell that shared story together – and it is a profoundly European story.

  • Amtsberg
  • Annaberg-Buchholz
  • Aue
  • Augustusburg
  • Burgstädt
  • Burkhardtsdorf
  • Flöha
  • Frankenberg/Sachsen
  • Hainichen
  • Jahnsdorf/Erzgebirge
  • Lichtenau
  • Limbach-Oberfrohna
  • Lößnitz
  • Mittweida
  • Neukirchen/Erzgebirge
  • Niederdorf
  • Niederwiesa
  • Niederwürschnitz
  • Oelsnitz
  • Olbernhau
  • Pockau-Lengefeld
  • Stollberg/Erzgebirge
  • Thalheim/Erzgebirge
  • Zwönitz

Associated municipality:

  • Freiberg
  • Zschopau
  • Zwickau